The Second Book: Literally An Effort To Save Lives

On Monday I mentioned a second book opportunity. An opportunity so important to me that I sped up the process first book to be able to focus on it instead. This is what’s up:

In doing research for the first book I came across a documentary about the rise of suicide attempts by women in Afghanistan, particularly by setting themselves on fire. Many face domestic violence not only from husbands, but the husband’s family members as well. Life being full of pain, many of them no longer see its value.

The four women in the documentary resembled a courage that made them perfect for a section of my book. Considering the seriousness of their situation, I decided to email the documentaries director asking for permission to cite it, as opposed to simply going ahead and doing so on my own. I waited for about 3 days for a reply. In that time I began to think to myself “This deserves more than just a section. Maybe I should redo my first book to integrate the story throughout?…A small section won’t be enough to move people to help their cause and truly raise awareness.”

After getting the “okay” from the director, we spoke further. The things he told me about the situation over there made it clear to me that an entire book was necessary. He put me in contact with other proactive individuals and I found a small charity that tries to aid the cause. So here I am, writing a second book.

There is SO much more to it that I will probably reveal in posts later on. I do not want to make this post too lengthy. Just know that I need to have this book out by the end of April and it is not easy to efficiently communicate with people in several other countries, particularly when some face life threatening situations on a daily basis. This will be my most ambitious project yet but I’ll get it done. I have to.

~~Sean

Leave a comment